top of page

Duke is a 4 year old, 50 lb. neutered male in Cartersville, GA

Duke is high energy and often runs laps in the backyard and then comes in for a nap. He likes to catch the ball but does not always retrieve and release the same. He likes to play tug-o-war.

Duke is trained to use a dog door and controls his own access to the fenced in yard. He is trained to walk on a leash without excessive pulling. He does walk to the front and has not been trained as to leash commands.
He understands commands to sit, down (lay), wait and he responds to his name.

For the first 6 months of his life, Duke went to daycare daily. In 2020, we relocated to Cartersville, GA and daycare became more sporadic as he didn’t fit in with the available locations as they catered to small dogs. He was removed from one day care for confining other dogs to an area – herding. COVID kicked in during this time and we were unable to continue trips to try and socialize him through visits to stores and dog parks.

He has never been near children and has spent almost no time near another animal in a home environment.

Duke is very expressive and will ‘talk’ when he thinks he is being ignored.
He is highly alert and will sound off when someone approaches the house.
When he is left at home during the day, he is fine and does not have any destructive behavior. He has separation anxiety, but it only shows when he can hear you but not get to you. For example, if you are in the garage and he is in the house. He will scratch and claw at the door and frame causing significant damage.

My son adopted Duke in June of 2019. Duke was left in a box at a shelter in Texas. In September of 2019 my son left for military training and I began caring for Duke. As things go, my employment changed and I relocated from Texas to Georgia January of 2020. During the COVID months it was just Duke and I at the house all day. I worked from home and had a very relaxed schedule and could interact with Duke frequently.

My son was completed training and was stationed in Kentucky with his wife. Duke spent a few months with them in Kentucky but their work schedules didn’t allow for Duke to be properly cared for. Duke is not crate trained and he did not do well when this became his daily life.

In early 2021 Duke returned to my home to be cared for. At this time my work responsibilities were increasing and I was required to travel overnight periodically. During these trips Duke is boarded at the vet clinic where he receives treatment. The boarding fees are excessive as he spends roughly 10 days/nights per month in order for me to meet my travel requirements.
My schedule is 10-14 hour work days, with periodic travel. I don’t have time to spend with Duke. He needs attention and my current situation doesn’t allow for me to give him the attention he deserves.

No adoption fee is requested. Vetting will be aligned with the guidance from the ACDRA. He is up to date on all vaccinations. He also has received flea/tick and heartworm mediation regularly since his adoption. I am willing to transport to Duke at my expense.

bottom of page